3 Big Reasons You Should Travel

I love to travel. If I could get away with never having a job and just vacay-ing 24/7, I would. I just want to expand my horizons and explore new places. I am the walking definition of wanderlust. So here are three reasons I believe you should feel the same way too:

1) Adventures make great stories- After you travel the globe, you get to go back home and tell your friends and family about all of the amazing things you’ve seen; the mountains, the people, the endless amounts of food (and/or wine). You instantly become that cool friend/ cousin/ sibling that has been somewhere they want to go. Plus, telling the story is the best way to relive it. However, there are places that will take your breath away and you won’t be able to put them into words. Those are the best places.

2) Pictures won’t do it justice- Someone once told me that they’re okay with having never seen mountains because they’ve seen pictures of them or seen them in movies. “UHM excuse me what the hell did you just say???” <– my literal reaction. Sure they’re just big piles of rock but you truly cannot appreciate the beauty that is a mountain until you’ve stood at the foot and/or top of said mountain. When I was in Greece I was brought to tears standing at the top of Delphi (pictured above), home to the temple of Apollo, because I had never seen anything so heart-stoppingly beautiful. Go to those places. Pictures on pinterest aren’t good enough.

3) Staying in the same place forever SUX. – There are very few people in this world that enjoy just staying at home every single day of the year. You get tired of seeing the same people and dealing with the same problems over and over again week after week. You need a vacation, a chance to unwind, relax, and forget about whatever has been bugging you at work/ school. When I was in Costa Rica, my best friend and I sat on the beach and didn’t say a single word to each other for four hours. And it was the most relaxing four hours I’ve ever had.

Take that holiday. See those new worlds. Who do you know that can say they regret a vacation?

TCB, Sav

Leave a comment